Aylmerton Nature Diary

Just my luck…

Leave a comment

I looked at the weather forecast last night and saw that we were due strong westerlies with rain overnight and thought it might be interesting to get out on the patch first-thing. Up early but it was still blowing a gale and I quickly became pre-occupied with other things. By about eight it had eased off so I decided to brave it – leaving my telephoto camera behind to avoid it getting wet (..stupid boy!) Nothing of interest down the lane, nor on the path to the Lake, which resulted in me taking a couple of photos of parasol fungi, on my compact camera, for the blog. I was just talking to the woman who feeds the horses when, out of the corner of my eye, I noticed an egret fly in from the direction of the dam and land on the wet meadow, above the new sluice. Little Egret are becoming more frequent visitors to the park and I’d already started to mentally draft this mornings blog, when something set alarm bells ringing – the size, shape and style of flight weren’t quite right. I had a hunch this was going to be interesting – I crept down the bramble hedge to get a better view and there, 50 metres away, was a Great White Egret! An adult winter bird with  menacing dagger-like yellow-orange bill, black legs, long white kinked neck. Almost immediately it took flight, flew up the beck and away over the trees towards the village. I did a circuit round the woods and returned half an hour later, just in case – but nothing. A very brief appearance of what I suspect might turn out to be a ‘first for Felbrigg’. (‘First’ for me for certain but I’ve already been told of at least one previous sighting – that’s the benefit of this ‘Community of interest”!)

By the time I’d fired up my compact camera this was the only shot I managed to take. Just my luck..

DSC09283 - Version 2

Just thinking what might have been… if only I’d have taken my telephoto!

DSCN0182

Not surprisingly, very little else to report from the mornings walk – partly because my mind was else where but also because there wasn’t much! Here though are those parasol fungi I was photographing before I was so rudely distracted!

DSC09277

Leave a Reply

