Aylmerton Nature Diary

Barn Owl makes the set!

Leave a comment

IMG_9046

Barn Owl, Aylmerton, 12th November 2014

Yesterday, whilst trying to re-locate the Short-eared Owl for Tim & Dawn, we heard a Tawny Owl calling somewhere down in the village. In the morning I’d disturbed a Little Owl along the path to Felbrigg Lake. So this morning I set off to find Barn Owl to make it four owl species in 24 hours! I had intended to go into the park to watch the water meadows – a favourite hunting ground for Barn Owl but, just as I got to the back gate, my eye was caught by a small white object near the hedge of the rough grazing field opposite. I lifted my binoculars and sure enough it was a Barn Owl enjoying a last meal of a mouse before retiring for the day. Gradually I was able to get closer to it until it was a ‘frame filler’! Just a pity the early morning light was rather dim.

On my way back I took a quick detour up The Close to see if the Short-eared was still about and surprisingly it was. I watched it briefly come across the field from the Holt direction and drop down out of view below the line of the beet field. Despite searching it couldn’t be relocated.

Leave a Reply

