Aylmerton Nature Diary

Geese..

Leave a comment

IMG_9226

Part of the flock of c2000 Pink-feet, Aylmerton, 20th November

Took a long walk around the parish this morning – my last for some time. Several Goldcrest in a garden Leylandii, on my way down The Street. Plenty of woodland birds in evidence in the park – Great Spotted and Green Woodpecker, Nuthatch, Stockdove and Jays. Most of the ‘dabbling ducks’ for some reason had moved from the Lake up to the water meadow. Two Egyptian Geese were also present and another pair were flying around by the house. On Felbrigg Lake itself, three Tufted Duck, six Gadwall and the pair of Goldeneye. In the rough grazing below the dam I flushed half a dozen Snipe as I walked through. Several Marsh Tit were in their usual spot behind Keeper’s Cottage. As I walked up towards the cross I heard a Yellowhammer in one of the roadside trees but I quickly became distracted by the distinctive noise of Pink-feet Geese – hundreds appearing to land somewhere to the west of the church. I walked up Mill Lane and across the fields, noticing that virtually all the hedges in this part of the parish have been severely trimmed – losing most of their berries in the process! By this time the noise of the geese was near deafening, as they continued to arrive in their hundreds to feed in the recently harvested beet field, north of the Loke. A quick scan with my binoculars and I estimated there must be something between 1500 and 2000 birds! I also spotted a single Barnacle Goose in amongst them. I decided to return home to collect my telescope and go through the flock properly – you never know what else you might find in these big flocks. As it happened an hour of systematic scanning failed to produce anything other than the already located Barnacle and a semi-albino Pink Foot. Oh well, still nice to see and hear so many geese actually feeding in the parish rather than just flying over.

More Pink-feet arriving

DSC09960

Sadly, the only other species present in the flock was a solitary Barnacle Goose – a good candidate for a genuinely wild bird

IMG_9229 DSC09946

Leave a Reply

