Aylmerton Nature Diary

Thursday 5th February

Leave a comment

There was a warmth in the afternoon sun when I set off on my walk around the park. A large gathering of gulls on the ploughed field by Church Lane contained only Black-headed and Common as far as I could see. A Bullfinch called from up in the tree canopy as I made my way from Sexton’s Lodge towards the Victory V avenue. There was nothing of note as I passed by the Hall, until I heard a Little Owl calling from the beech trees in front of the cafe. I crossed the pasture to look over the water meadow, where I bumped into friends from Gresham – we had a chat about the bird club before I left to check out the lake. I then came across another couple who were also members of the club – things are beginning to take off! There was the usual selection of wildfowl on the lake, including the two Goldeneye. I disturbed two Woodcock from their usual resting place in Common Plantation. Things improved after the hail shower when I saw Nuthatch, Treecreeper and Marsh Tit in the dank woods around the screen. Up the lane, on my way home, there was a flock of forty Linnet and in the cow pasture by the entrance to the allotments a dozen Blackbirds, three Song Thrush and three Redwing. By the time I got home around five I was very cold!

Leave a Reply

