Aylmerton Nature Diary

‘Still present and showing well..’

Leave a comment

I thought I’d better check on the Black Redstart situation this afternoon so I took a stroll down the The Street, just before 3.00pm. No sign on any of my neighbours roofs so I walked up on to the allotment, only to find that a couple of birders from Hindringham were watching the male, on my allotment! It flitted about between the allotments and the horse paddock – eventually heading down towards the road end. I came away and was heading for home when I saw Andy down the lane. We went back up to the allotment and after initially seeing nothing I first heard and then saw the bird back on the log pile, where I’d originally seen the female this morning. It then continued to feed on the allotments before flying up onto a house roof on Melrose Drive. Slightly surprised that it’s hung around for most of the day.

Leave a Reply

