Aylmerton Nature Diary

The last couple of days

Leave a comment

IMG_7211

A fine male Ring Ouzel – Felbrigg Park

I’m still playing ‘catch-up’ after the Easter holiday weekend, so here’s a summary of stuff at Felbrigg over the past couple of days. I managed an early morning walk yesterday before departing to Cambridgeshire for my grandson’s birthday party and today, having been over in Peterborough all day (missing a host of interesting spring migrants along the Norfolk coast), I did manage to get down to the park this evening to see the superb male Ring Ouzel, found by Perry Hampson – first thing. Also of note, the immature male Goldeneye remains on the lake, along with two pairs of Mandarin and an odd Aythya duck – more of which later. There were a couple of Redwing yesterday in the oaks between the hall and the lake and a Fieldfare today in the same spot as the Ring Ouzel – mostly on the field and in the hawthorns north of the water meadow. The usual array of woodland birds, including Nuthatch, Treecreeper, Marsh Tit and Chiffchaff were around the screen by the lake.

IMG_7126

I’ve seen this odd-looking Aythya duck at Felbrigg Lake a couple of times over the last few weeks but never really looked at it! Yesterday, probably because it was rather foggy, the Tufted Duck flock was closer to the edge than usual, allowing better views and a few rather grainy shots. In the back of my mind I knew there was something odd about it but I’d written it off as a first winter male Tufted. Yesterday it clicked, surely this is one of those notorious Aythya hybrids – but which one? Looking at various plates in my admittedly rather limited bird book library I’m inclined to think that it could be a Tufted Duck x Ring-necked Duck, but I’d welcome a more expert view if anyone would care to comment. For more photos see my other posting on TrevorOnTour.

 

Leave a Reply

