Aylmerton Nature Diary

Monday 27th April

Leave a comment

I was volunteering at Cley NWT all day so it was late afternoon before I managed to get into Felbrigg for the first time since our return from Scotland. Although it was still sunny the air temperature was more like the Arctic and most of the small birds had presumably gone to roost. All except Ring Ouzel that is which, to my complete surprise, are still present in some numbers on the water meadow. I saw five together at one point but think there could be as many as eight still in the area. Interestingly they mostly seem to be immature males and females, no adult males that I could find. I saw a couple of Snipe, the pair of Oystercatcher, a handful of duck including Tufted, Mallard, Gadwall & Teal and my first few Swallow of the year, feeding over the lake, but nothing much else of note. The Barn Owl was hunting over the rough pasture at the bottom of The Street, on my way to the park.

Leave a Reply

