Aylmerton Nature Diary

Saturday 20th June

Leave a comment

I was strolling around the parish this afternoon when I noticed a Barn Owl flying straight towards me with a vole in its tallons. It saw me and quickly doubled back to a nearby oak. Thinking that this was odd behaviour and realising that I was close to a long established owl box location, I hid in the hedge and waited. Within minutes the owl took to the wing again and flew directly to the box, exciting a young bird(s) inside, as it did so. Proof positive of a successful breeding attempt in, what I’m told, is a previously unoccupied box. Great news!

Leave a Reply

