Aylmerton Nature Diary

Saturday afternoon

1 Comment

IMG_6333

Large Skipper, Aylmerton Pond

Having mowed the new grass path around the western edge of the village pond at lunchtime, I was keen to get back there this afternoon to see what wildlife was about. To my delight there were at least four species of butterfly using the newly created ‘hot-spots’ – Red Admiral, Painted Lady, Speckled Wood and Large Skipper, my first of the year. Encouraged by the upturn in insect activity, I continued on into Felbrigg and down towards the lake. At the Warren I bumped into Simon, who told me he’d just seen a Red-veined Darter – a scarce migrant dragonfly from southern Europe. After half an hour of ‘no show’ I decided to check out the grazing meadow below the dam for the Cuckoo, seen by Perry this morning. On the top path, close to the gate, I saw a medium-sized ‘red’ dragonfly which I assumed was probably the ‘target’. Looking at the photos this evening I think that my id is correct – but, as always, I’m happy to be advised otherwise. Also of interest at the lake, female Mandarin and the Tawny Owl was still in the shelter-belt.

IMG_6336

Male Red-veined Darter, Felbrigg Warren

One thought on “Saturday afternoon

  1. It would be nice if the RVD’s are still about later next week. I’m probably not going to be able to visit Felbrigg again before that. Nice photo!

    Perry

    Like

Leave a Reply

