Aylmerton Nature Diary

Sunday 26th July

1 Comment

 

IMG_0616

Otter, Felbrigg Lake

Apart from the NENBC mid-week walk ten days ago, today was my first visit to Felbrigg Park in nearly three weeks. This unusually long absence being due to an excursion to France to watch Le Tour but also, more recently, to a nasty eye injury which has pretty much prevented me from doing any bird watching. Anyway I’m now on the mend and the early morning sun was enough encouragement for me to venture out. The recent rain falls have resulted in lush vegetation and muddy paths across the estate. There were plenty of the usual woodland birds about, many attending young – mostly second broods, which is encouraging. I’d just reached the shoreline of the lake by the reed bed when I noticed some disturbance to the water, a brief glimpse of something dark swirling in the water and then, there it was, an OTTER fishing for it’s breakfast! I’ve heard reports of Otter in Felbrigg before but never been lucky enough to connect – wow! I watched it for a while as it gradually made it’s way towards the dam – mostly I could see the stream of air bubbles but occasionally it did come to the surface and then, as quickly as it had appeared, it just vanished. There were very few ducks on the lake, just a dozen or so Mallard in ‘eclipse’ and what I take to be a pair of Mandarin, also in heavy moult – there’s no indication that either bird is a youngster. To complete my morning stroll, a lovely pair of Roe Deer were grazing in the water meadow on my homeward journey. I couldn’t have had a more delightful return to the ‘home patch’!

More Otter shots..

IMG_0607

IMG_0604

IMG_0601

Roe Deer grazing on the water meadow

IMG_0640

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Sunday 26th July

  1. HI I FOLLOW YOUR WEBSITE ON FELBRIGG SOME GREAT PICS , I TOO VISIT THE LAKE EARLY MORNING WELL 4 AM TILL ABOUT 8 AM FISHING . I HAVE SEEN SOME GREAT SUN RISES BY THE LAKE WITH MIST OVER THE WATER, WELL NOT SO MUCH THIS YEAR BECAUSE OF THE WEED . WELL AS FOR OTTERS GREAT TO SEE BUT THEY WILL BE THE END OF THE BIG OLD TENCH AND PIKE WHICH ARE IN DECLINE . I MUST STRESS TO YOU OTTERS EAT BIRDS EGGS, IF YOU VISIT BLICKLING AND THE BROADS YOU WILL SEE THE LACK OF DUCKS SO THEY ARE NOT THAT GOOD FOR OTHER WILDLIFE . KEEP UP WITH THE GREAT WEB PICS AND MAY BE AN UPDATE ON THE WEED AS I LIVE IN BARNSLEY . ANDY

    Like

Leave a Reply

