Aylmerton Nature Diary

Thursday 29th October

Leave a comment

IMG_1958

Grey Heron, Felbrigg Lake

I was out at dawn to look for the Short-eared Owl, reported at Felbrigg on Tuesday afternoon. By chance I bumped into my dog-walking friends from the village, who told me they’d seen a Marsh Harrier over by the Hall at 7.00 on Tuesday morning – I’m now wondering if this might have been the owl? Anyway, no luck for me this morning but it was lovely being out as the sun began to rise and illuminate the autumn leaves – which are now really beginning to fall. On the Lake I was pleased to see three pairs of Mandarin, but oddly no sign of the immature male I saw on Sunday. The flock of Tufted has again increased to 38 and there were 15 Teal, between the Lake and the Water Meadow. A Grey Wagtail was busy in the wet undergrowth opposite the viewing screen and I had my first flock of Pink-feet fly over the park. More winter thrushes are arriving, with small numbers of Redwing and Fieldfare, heading west. Also saw my first Lapwing of the autumn, a flock of 18, also heading west. A Sparrowhawk over the sheep fields was my only other noteworthy sighting.

IMG_1927

Sparrowhawk over the sheep fields

Leave a Reply

