Aylmerton Nature Diary

Wednesday 23rd December

Leave a comment

IMG_2988

Seasons Greetings from Felbrigg Park!

It was 9 deg. in the Park before lunch, with a moderate south westerly breeze, but it felt much warmer – more like late April. There were a few mixed feeding flocks as I made my way down to and around the Lake, including a couple of Bullfinch. First surprise was a pair of Egyptian Geese and then I noticed that the female/immature Goldeneye was still present. There were hundreds of bathing gulls, mostly Black-headed and Common with just a handful of Herring. In the Alders, beside the screen, there were several Siskin, three Marsh Tit and a Nuthatch. As I made my way back through the Deer Park I came across another mixed flock, with more Marsh Tit and gorgeous Goldcrest. In the rough grazing meadow at the bottom of The Street there was another Marsh Tit, noisily calling, and half way up the lane I encountered three more Bullfinch. Just as I reached home, a male Sparrowhawk drifted across The Street – a nice end to a nice walk and my last before Christmas.

So with that in mind, Seasons Greetings to one and all and I look forward to bringing you more wildlife blogging in 2016!

Not everyone’s favourite goose, but these Greylags looked superb in the low winter sun

IMG_2965

Perhaps not as good though as the pair of Egyptian Geese

IMG_2953

Marsh Tit were everywhere this morning!

IMG_2990

Finally, this little gem – Goldcrest!

IMG_3002

 

Leave a Reply

