Aylmerton Nature Diary

Tuesday 8th March

Leave a comment

IMG_3320

Sub-adult Common Gull

We were away at the weekend and volunteering at Cley yesterday, so it’s been a few days since I’ve managed to get into the park. Pretty quiet overall, although I did think I’d detected an increase in the number of Blackbirds – continental wintering birds perhaps, on their way back north. Interesting though, I haven’t seen or heard either Redwing or Fieldfare since we got back from Thailand. As I approached the lake, along the footpath behind the Forge, I disturbed a male Sparrowhawk from off the ground. At the lake there was no sign of the Whoopers – I guess they’ve moved on by now. Also, no Mute Swans either, which is very odd. The male Pochard was still hanging out with the Tufted Ducks. There are still quite a few Common Gull around – either feeding on the rough grazing meadow along Scarrow Beck or bathing on the lake. The Little Owl was barely visible, deep in cover, on the ivy covered tree below the dam. There was nothing to distract me on the walk home.

Leave a Reply

