Aylmerton Nature Diary

Tuesday 15th PM

Leave a comment

This afternoon I walked over to Gresham to sort out a few things regarding the forth-coming Breeding Bird Survey. Whilst at Ken & Carol’s I enjoyed excellent views of Siskin and Brambling – my first for Norfolk in 2016. Later, as I walked along Metton Road towards Felbrigg, I heard and then saw a flock of 40 or so Fieldfare which appeared to have been ‘grounded’ in the fog, on a stubble field. Another ‘first’ for the year. At Felbrigg Lake the Little Egret was still feeding along the eastern edge, where there was also an Oystercatcher – first returning bird of 2016. On my way home, two groups of Blackbirds – looking like migrants to me, one of about 15 near the back gate and then a bigger group of twenty plus in the pasture at the entrance to Bluebell Farm.

First returning Oystercatcher of 2016, Felbrigg Lake

IMG_3371

Leave a Reply

