Aylmerton Nature Diary

Tuesday 22nd March – now with Post Script

Leave a comment

IMG_3454

Distant shot of Chiffchaff – first migrant of the spring!

P.S. I’ve just looked back over my records and this is the exact same day as last year!!

It was a beautiful sunny morning as I set off for my walk. I’d barely got to the edge of the village when I heard the familiar refrain of a singing Chiffchaff – my first summer visitor of 2016! A little further down the lane a second bird was singing in the hedge. I walked my usual route along the middle path to the lake, looking over the water meadow as I did so. Fourteen Snipe were dotted around amongst the Teal and there was a pair of Gadwall. Nothing different on the lake but lots of Greylag present. I continued up the Weaver’s Way towards Felbrigg church – a single Meadow Pipit was calling just beyond the wall. The pair of Little Owl were sunning themselves in their favourite tree near the Hall. As I turned off the carriage track, heading for home, I noticed a couple of Redwing perched high up in the trees – they eventually flew off towards Sexton’s Lodge. A male Sparrowhawk was displaying over the Old Deer Park.

We’d only been saying at the weekend that neither Lee nor I had seen the Roe Deer for weeks. As I was busy trying to locate the second singing Chiffchaff, I came across this!  

IMG_3458

One of the pair of Little Owl near the Hall

IMG_3464

Leave a Reply

