Aylmerton Nature Diary

Tuesday 29th March

Leave a comment

IMG_3595

One of two Barn Owl hunting over the rough grazing meadow, Aylmerton

Fabulous morning in Felbrigg Park. There were the remains of a heavy frost as I walked down the lane. Two Barn Owl were hunting in the rough meadow at the edge of the village and a Chiffchaff singing from the conifer belt. Just inside the park, whilst I was listening to a Great Spotted Woodpecker, the distinctive sounds of a Grey Wagtail rang out. I managed to see the bird as it flew through the trees and over The Woodyard. I took the middle path to the lake to ensure that the bright early morning sun was behind me. In addition to the usual wildfowl on the water meadow there were three Snipe. The water levels have risen significantly again, following yesterday’s rain. As I scanned down towards the sluice I noticed a small water bird close to the block of reeds by the path – turned out to be a lovely summer plumage Little Grebe. A second bird almost immediately started calling from the lake. I’d just passed The Warren, looking for yesterday’s Swallow, when I heard a familiar whistling sound – a Shelduck flew in from the south. My first on the patch in 2016. A Green Woodpecker flew across the lake and into a large Beech tree on the opposite side. A male Mandarin was out in open water before it flew off through the trees. I took the path back between the Forge and Paul’s Common to Park Farm, here I was delighted to see a Swallow flying around the farm barns. Further along the road, another Buzzard and, as I turned in to The Street, a Red Kite over Lion’s Mouth. I’d just reached home when a small flock of Siskin passed over-head buzzing. Not a bad morning for late March!

First Shelduck this year, Felbrigg Lake

IMG_3603

Distant shot of the pair of Barn Owl, Aylmerton

IMG_3591

One of several Buzzard in the Felbrigg area recently

IMG_3611

 

Leave a Reply

