Aylmerton Nature Diary

Saturday 30th April

Leave a comment

IMG_4688

Jay doesn’t often feature in this blog – I photographed this one near Sexton’s Lodge

We were up and out reasonably early to do our section of the village litter pick. A Whitethroat down The Street was the only new bird of note. I then spent most of the day at Cley NWT leading a Spring Migrants workshop, highlights of which were Whinchat, Reed Warbler and a couple of Green Sandpiper – they were a great group though, and it was lovely weather!

Whitethroat are arriving in some numbers now in the parish

IMG_4680

I checked the NENBC website on my return home, to discover that Lee had found a Ring Ouzel, near Aylmerton church, during the morning – ‘showing well’ it said! Although the report was by now six hours old, I decided to go and have a look for it anyway, as I still needed it for a 2016 ‘patch tick’. I searched the spot where I presumed Lee had seen the bird, finding first a male Blackbird, followed by a superb female Ring Ouzel. It was busy feeding in a newly sprouting bean field.

Female Ring Ouzel, near Aylmerton church – a nice find by Lee!

IMG_4650

I continued into the park to check on the Garganey – now present for their fifth day. There was the usual stuff on the water meadow, including Lapwing and Snipe. The Common Sandpiper was still present, roosting on the western shore of the lake – where I managed to find and photograph it without without disturbing it. The hybrid Tufted x Ferruginous was with a handful of Tufted Duck. Actually, I was surprised that anything was on the lake at all given that there was a family flying a drone over it when I arrived!

Common Sandpiper by Felbrigg Lake

IMG_4710

Leave a Reply

