Aylmerton Nature Diary

Sunday 26th June

Leave a comment

Fed-up with the current poor selection of dragonflies available at Felbrigg, I called in at Hickling Broad NWT on my way back from twitching the Caspian Tern at Breydon Water. Turned out to be a good decision – adding two more species to my growing list, as well as seeing a good variety of other species.

Hairy Dragonfly

IMG_8022

Black-tailed Skimmer

IMG_7940

First new species – a terrible shot of Norfolk Hawker. Just couldn’t find a static one

IMG_7947

Ruddy Darter

IMG_8043

Common Darter

IMG_7974

Second new species – Variable Damselfly. I surprised myself by being reasonably confident in my initial id.

IMG_8015

As with all my dragonfly id. I’m happy to be corrected if I’ve goofed-up!

 

Leave a Reply

