Aylmerton Nature Diary

Sunday 21st August

Leave a comment

IMG_6581

Kingfisher, Felbrigg Lake

It’s been a busy few days, what with birthday treats, the Rutland Water Bird Fair, visiting the kids in Peterborough etc., so I was pleased to get back to some ‘local patch’ birding this evening. It was sunny when I set off but there was still quite a breeze blowing, so I concentrated my efforts where there was a prospect of some sheltered feeding. First success came when, from the top sluice path, I saw what I thought were probably Spotted Flycatchers, feeding in the hawthorns around the pond, north of the water meadow. I was able to get a bit closer by walking back along the middle track. There were three birds, probably an adult and two youngsters – also there, a Whitethroat in the same bush. At the lake I was surprised to find a small group of eight Teal amongst the usual flock of moulting Mallards, whilst a female Mandarin was lurking under the over-hanging branches. The distinctive piping call of Kingfisher rang out across the lake and I quickly got on to it as it flew around the edge of the reed-bed. I later found it perched on the dam wall and again in the dead trees near the viewing screen. A Little Egret, preening along the western edge was my first here since the middle of March. To conclude the evening a Little Owl was sat out, enjoying the evening sunshine, in the hawthorns south of the dam.

A few of the small group of eight Teal – presumably returning for the winter

IMG_6566

Little Egret, Felbrigg Lake – my first here since March

IMG_6562

Leave a Reply

