Aylmerton Nature Diary

Wednesday 5th October

Leave a comment

img_7029-1

Male Ring Ouzel, by the Top Pond, Felbrigg Park

Yesterday, for the third day running, I added a new thrush species for the autumn, this time it was Ring Ouzel! I was busy until late afternoon, finishing off work on the pond, so it was late before I could get into the park. Mark, and then later Pete & Sue, had reported Ring Ouzel between the ‘Ice Pond’ and the lake, in the morning, so I began my search in the usual place around the water meadow. I found the male, almost immediately, sitting in one of the hawthorns but it took a while before I located the two female/immature birds – both in the same bush at one point.

Another shot of the same bird

img_7017

I went down again this morning to check and again found the male in bushes further towards the sluice. I also got  brief glimpses of what I think were probably the two female/immatures but, despite nearly an hours watching, I failed to see any of them again. There were however several Redwing, Song & Mistle Thrush and Blackbird – making it five thrush species for the morning. Not quite equalling my record of six species in April 2015, click this link to see, but not bad all the same. A couple of Siskin flew over the top sluice whilst I was watching from there and a small group of Lapwing passed over head. There was a nice male Bullfinch on Aylmerton Common on the way home.

Leave a Reply

