Aylmerton Nature Diary

Thursday 13th October

Leave a comment

img_7106

My first male Mandarin since mid-June

First foray into Felbrigg Park in over a week. A Muntjac was out in the open in the Old Deer Park, soon after I entered through the back gate. As I walked down the central track towards the lake there were several groups of Redwing and Blackbird, feeding in the nearby Hawthorn – later moving off to the west. A lone Fieldfare flew over, calling. On the lake I saw a distant male Mandarin – my first since mid-June, later joined by another male and a female. Also on the lake, two male Tufted Duck and a female Wigeon. There were 34 Cormorant in the roost.

Later on in the morning I had a walk around my neighbour’s fields, where there was a noisy Brambling in the thick hedge, with Chaffinch and a Siskin feeding on his feeders.

Muntjac, in the early morning gloom – Felbrigg Old Deer Park

img_7101

Leave a Reply

