Aylmerton Nature Diary

Saturday 15th October

Leave a comment

img_7123

Flock of feeding Redwing

I started the day leading a bird walk around Felbrigg for the local ‘Loose enders’ group. We saw over fifty species, the highlights of which included great views of Little Owl and Pied Wagtail, two Wigeon on the lake with 15 Tufted Duck and Pink-footed Geese flying over. There were plenty of winter thrushes about but they weren’t particularly obliging.

This afternoon I was doing a bit of work in my neighbours paddock when I became aware of a Yellow-browed Warbler calling in the Sycamore tree above my head. I returned home to get my camera but unfortunately I couldn’t relocate it. However, on a general walk around the area I did find a couple of vocal Brambling and flushed a Woodcock. In the cattle field at the bottom of The Street there was a small flock of 20 or so Redwing.

Fieldfare – having managed to navigate it’s way across the North Sea, sadly ending up as road-kill

dsc01344

Leave a Reply

