Aylmerton Nature Diary

Thursday afternoon

Leave a comment

img_8284

Male Pintail – a Felbrigg ‘first’ for me!

The weather this afternoon was a big improvement on yesterday, with clear skies and some sunshine – it was still pretty chilly though. The water meadow had pretty much frozen over and all the ducks were on the lake. At the viewing screen I bumped into Simon  who told me he’d just seen a Pintail, but that it had gone missing in the over-hanging Willows! Pintail is a surprisingly scarce bird at Felbrigg – I know because I’m currently working on the revised Checklist of the Birds of Felbrigg, and there’s only one previously available record, from 2013. We quickly relocated to the east side where I managed a brief glimpse before it slipped back into cover. Despite extensive searching it failed to reappear. Simon walked back to the viewing screen, during which time this splendid male specimen emerged into open water. A Felbrigg ‘tick’ for me!

Another shot, taken from the viewing screen before my camera battery died

img_8296

Leave a Reply

