Aylmerton Nature Diary

Sunday 3rd February

Leave a comment

dsc01474

Me, at the allotments, for dawn 

I did something this morning  I’ve been meaning to do for weeks – went up to the allotments for dawn, to see if I could get Hawfinch on my ‘Allotment List’. I’d been there about a quarter of an hour when I noticed a single bird sat in the top of the usual ‘arrival’ trees – Hawfinch safely on the list, at 07.26! Almost as quickly as it arrived, it and a couple of friends which appeared from nowhere, flew in a circuit around The Street and away, over the allotments, heading west. I tracked them through the telescope about as far as the Stone Cross – adding possible credence to the theory that the birds I saw in Gresham may well have come from the Aylmerton flock.

Other birds of interest included Bullfinch, Stock Dove, Green Woodpecker and several skeins of Pink-feet, heading north west – I wonder if they are on their way back north? From the allotment track, six Teal flew up the Scarrow Beck, another welcome addition to the Allotment List, bringing my total to 83. Just as I reached home a female Sparrowhawk dashed across the lane and over my neighbours garden, flushing four Siskin in the process.

 

Leave a comment