Aylmerton Nature Diary

Tuesday 21st March

Leave a comment

IMG_9272

Pair of Grey Wagtail – Felbrigg Lake

My first early morning walk around the Felbrigg estate in nearly three weeks. I heard four singing Chiffchaff between the back gate and the lake. The levels on the water meadow are rapidly dropping, resulting in fewer wildfowl but there was a ‘territorial’ Lapwing there which generates some optimism for the coming breeding season. Coot numbers are up to eight across the lake and water meadow, whilst Gadwall and Tufted numbers are about two dozen each. I was pleased to see that the lone Great Crested Grebe is still present, slowly developing adult breeding plumage. I was even more pleased to see a summer plumage Little Grebe, swim out from the reed bed – the first I’ve seen on the lake since the autumn. As I crossed the dam I heard the familiar call of Grey Wagtail. I looked in the usual spot and was delighted to see a pair of adult birds. On my way back home there were six Common Buzzards displaying over Aylmerton Common. It’s good to be home!

Two Grebe species on the lake at the same time – Great and Little!

IMG_9260

IMG_9252

Leave a Reply

