Aylmerton Nature Diary

Wednesday 29th March

Leave a comment

IMG_9504

Teal numbers were up on the water meadow yesterday – I counted thirty three

Yesterday afternoon there was a Red Kite soaring over Aylmerton Common with a Common Buzzard – my first for the year in the parish. I walked back from Sustead Common, after delivering some materials for the work-party there this morning. Nothing particularly exciting in the park but I did see my first Sand Martin of the year – five briefly over the lake, before they headed off to the north west. The female Grey Wagtail was again by the outflow. There were more Teal on the water meadow than in recent days, I counted 33, along with a male Wigeon, four Snipe and the male Lapwing. I’m expecting Blackcap any day now.

Grab-shot of one of the five Sand Martin briefly over the lake in the afternoon 

IMG_9500

Red Kite over Aylmerton Common – my first of the year in the parish

IMG_9494

Leave a Reply

