Aylmerton Nature Diary

Wednesday 10th May

Leave a comment

IMG_7630

Record shot of the Tawny Pipit at Weybourne, taken from the coastal path. An NENBC area tick for me

On Monday I was volunteering at Cley NWT all day. Yesterday I did manage a quick round of the park but saw nothing of particular note, though there was a male Wheatear still on the rough grazing meadow south of the dam, the Lesser Whitethroat was singing from the hedge near-by and the two Little Grebe were showing well near the reed bed. On my way to the village AGM in the evening I watched a pair of House Martin visiting an old nest site on a house on Church Road. Today I was doing a Spring Migrants Workshop, back at Cley, but my early morning preparations were disturbed by the news of a Tawny Pipit at Weybourne, found by Moss Taylor. News spread through the NENBC grape-vine quickly and I was down there, ticking up, in under an hour. A great bird and an NENBC area tick for me!

 

 

Leave a Reply

