Aylmerton Nature Diary

Friday 19th May

Leave a comment

IMG_0501

Painted Lady – one of three, emerging from hibernation I assume, Felbrigg Park

Yesterday I did my NENBC Breeding Bird Survey of School Farm. As on previous visits, there were very few breeding birds to record, but I did see a couple of singing  Yellowhammer and there was an itinerant pair of Oystercatcher on a newly plant field. I visited Felbrigg Park on my way there, on my way back and returned again in the late afternoon – on each occasion, hoping to see (or even hear) Cuckoo, but I failed miserably. At tea-time I went to watch Andrew set up the bat monitoring equipment on Sustead Common, only to be regaled by Carol & Ken with tales of a close Cuckoo encounter, as they walked over from Gresham. Not my day! In the warm late afternoon sun however, there were plenty of insects about for a change, including three Painted Lady butterflies and a dozen or so Common Blue Damselfly. During the day I managed to squeeze some time in to pop over to Kelling water meadows to see the Black-winged Stilt. I was hoping all afternoon that it would fly off east and it might visit Felbrigg, but alas it went west, to Cley!

Nuthatch, still feeding young along the western shelter-belt

IMG_0430

Black-winged Stilt, seen at Kelling – how good would this look on the water meadows?

IMG_0477

Leave a Reply

