Aylmerton Nature Diary

Saturday 20th May – going Cuckoo

Leave a comment

IMG_0524

Distant record shot of calling Cuckoo, Aylmerton – at last!

I thought I was going Cuckoo! Having flogged around the park this morning, including the rough grazing below the dam, Common Plantation and up to the Field Study Centre without success, I get back to my garden gate and I hear a Cuckoo call from behind the house! I managed to track it down in Mallett’s Meadows before it flew to the Poplars near the church, and then on further west. At last! In the park I was pleased to see that the Lapwing is still sitting, despite the heavy rain of the past couple of days, and the pair of Gadwall remain on the lake. The Little Owl was in it’s usual spot. Early morning news of a Golden Oriole on West Runton Golf Course suggests that Spring passage is not yet over – watch this space!

The pair of Gadwall are still on Felbrigg Lake this morning

IMG_0512

Leave a Reply

