Aylmerton Nature Diary

Sunday 8th February

Leave a comment

I decided to head north for my afternoons walk and explore a bit of the parish which is ‘across the tracks’ from us -or in this case the A148! A nice selection of woodland birds but nothing out of the ordinary. I passed by the water tower and then re-crossing the main road, headed down Lion’s Mouth and through the park to Sexton’s Lodge. A couple of drumming Great Spotted Woodpeckers provided some interest before eventually arriving at the water meadow. A dozen Teal were splashing about up the stream but I couldn’t locate any Snipe. The lake held it’s usual assortment of wildfowl although the Goldeneye appear to have departed. Along the path, west of the lake, a couple of Treecreeper showed well as did Marsh Tit. Up the lane on my way home, the flock of forty or so Linnet were in the Ash trees with a dozen Fieldfare. Nice to have some afternoon sun for a change.

Leave a comment